sisterkyleightylernagoyajapan

Sister Kyleigh Tyler is serving an LDS mission in Nagoya Japan

Week 15 (April 6, 2015)–Sakura, Bike wreck #2, Sick, and PATIENCE!

on May 25, 2015
Sakura Blossoms (aka Cherry Blossoms)

Sakura Blossoms (aka Cherry Blossoms)

Okay, thank you so much for my package! The shorts you sent are great – they work the best so thank you. the spandex-y skirts are not the best for biking. They don’t last very long and get caught in the breaks of my bike. Thank you for my conference book, food, etc.

This week has been awesome. Well, this week has been an awesome test of my patience. I have been sick for a lot of the week. But i’ll get to that later. And that was just a joke. Missionary work is the greatest, even when you are sick.

Monday: I had to replace my bike breaks. My poor bike, i feel like i’m going to be having to fix it a lot over the next 18 months. Yeah, i’m not skilled at riding a bike. We watched this awesome goal setting video that was given by a past Nagoya Mission president. it was one of those videos that just make you want to go out and set goals for the rest of your life that make you a better person. So that’s fun. We are awesome planners now from it.

Tuesday: We went with a less active to see the Sakura blossoms! Oh my good golly goshes (that was for Carson) they are GORGEOUS! Japan is just so pretty. We then tried contacting people on the street by acting like lost gaigin. It didn’t work. But it was super funny. We are only supposed to OYM to women, and we tried asking directions, but she just kind of looked at us and then a guy helped us. So that was a failure. But you have to have some failed attempts before stuff works!  Then we went to Baskin Robins, because on the 31st day of the month their ice cream is 31% off. So that was fun. Ice cream is always fun!

Wednesday: I went on a Kokan again to Fukutoku. This time I was with A. Shimai, who is such a sweetheart. She’s from Hokkaido (Sapporo mission) but speaks super good English. We visited people and the taught their eikaiwa. I was in charge of it because I’m a native speaker of English. I think the students enjoyed it, probably because i can’t speak Japanese and I’m pretty sure they taught me more than what I taught them. Mom wonders what we do – this is it. I’m pretty sure people come just to watch the missionaries interact with each other, because what can I say, we are hilarious. We write stuff on the board, and follow this book, but then we spend the end part of the class playing games. But in Kodomo eikaiwa we just play games and sing songs. So there’s that. It’s a lot of fun, best service ever.

Thursday: Switched back:) We had a lesson with Mu and it was great. I love our investigators so much. She’s has awesome prayers. Listening to investigators pray is so the best thing ever. We did a mogi lesson with a member. Those are fun. And kind of awkward. I’m just not very good at Japanese and it ends up making no sense. But I have the first vision memorized in Japanese, so I can do that.

Friday: We met with this awesome new family that is so sweet. It was the first time I got to speak without the language working against me. It was really good. But I started to get sick, which was unfortunate.

Saturday: We got to watch the women’s general meeting. It was so good! We were the only ones watching it in English, so we popped popcorn. I forgot to write last week about my questions for conferece so here they are : my first one was ‘How can I be more charitable? What is Charity and what does it look like?’  Well President Eyring’s address really answered that for me when he explained that charity never faileth and charity is the pure love of Christ. The pure love of Christ never fails. And that just made me want to emulate the Savior. I’ve been thinking a lot about how as missionaries we are literally representing the Savior, and how incredible that is, and how I really need to work on being worthy of that title.

Since my question was answered before I even really started conference, I thought up another one going into conference (which is this weekend for us). ‘What can I do so that the Lord will trust me? Trust me as His missionary, trust me with His children and with investigators, and just trust me.’ So that’s the question I have for conference. Don’t tell me how it ends!

Sunday: So I called the mission doctor. It took a long time, there’s a reason they tell you in an emergency to get help, then permission. Everyone is busy and it’s hard to get permission first. Also, our mission Pres is in Utah for conference! But he told me to go to the doctor on Monday. I had a double ear infection, and I can’t really hear. But they gave me meds, so hopefully we will be getting better. I wrecked my bike again. Probably a combination of rain, dark, and the fact that my balance was shot because of my ear infections. But it’s okay, I was wearing kappa pants and I could kind of jump off before I fell. I hit a pole. my bad. Then we had a lesson with a member family and it was Amazing! They are great. They have a son who just got off the Kobe mission, and loves hanging out with the missionaries. It was just great. I love when we can feel the spirit that strongly!

Monday: Yes I went to the doctor. It’s all good. Probably. I’m working on getting better. The doc power washed my ears, and gave me meds, so I’m grateful for that. We also had district activity.

My thoughts for this week: I found a great scriptures that basically just describes why i’m on a mission: Alma 36:24. Go read it, it’s great.

Then I’ve been reading in alma and found Alma 37: 38, 40-41, 44. It’s all about the Liahona, and how it works according to the faith of those it is given too.

38 And now, my son, I have somewhat to say concerning the thing which our fathers call a ball, or director—or our fathers called it Liahona, which is, being interpreted, a compass; and the Lord prepared it.

40 And it did work for them according to their faith in God; therefore, if they had faith to believe that God could cause that those spindles should point the way they should go, behold, it was done; therefore they had this miracle, and also many other miracles wrought by the power of God, day by day.

41 Nevertheless, because those miracles were worked by small means it did show unto them marvelous works.They were slothful, and forgot to exercise their faith and diligence and then those marvelous works ceased, and they did not progress in their journey;

44 For behold, it is as easy to give heed to the word of Christ, which will point to you a straight course to eternal bliss, as it was for our fathers to give heed to this compass,which would point unto them a straight course to the promised land.

1st Nephi 16:28

28 And it came to pass that I, Nephi, beheld the pointers which were in the ball, that they did work according to the faith and diligence and heed which we did give unto them.

I love 40. This is basically the spirit. It leads us according to the faith. It works according to our faith, and diligence, and the heed we give unto it. As we act on the promptings we receive . we qualify to receive more promptings and more light. I’ve thought about this as I think about how to have more charity. As we follow the promptings of the spirit to serve our brethren, we will be led to those who need to hear and need us. I see this a lot. We rarely have things go according to plan, but we are always where we are needed. And that’s a great feeling.

I also like verse 44. It is easy to follow the word of Christ. A lot of times, it may seem hard because we are looking at it from a limited perspective. As we have an eternal perspective, We can see that because the word of Christ leads us to eternal bliss, it is a very straight course, and not that hard to follow. As we are constantly improving, we are continuing on that straight course. I love seeing our investigators (and members too) recognized this. It is amazing.

Sorry, short on time today because we have had lots to do. I love you and hope you are all doing well. I will keep grandma and aunt susan in my prayers. I hope everything is going well..

Lots of love friends!

Sister Kyleigh Ann Tyler

Japan Nagoya Mission

More Sakura!

More Sakura!

Leave a Reply

